Cole’s Chop House is located in the Williams-Kyser building. The Williams building was the first commercial block constructed north of the Napa creek. The hand-hewn native structure, designed by San Francisco architects Wright and Saunders, used local rock for the walls and Douglas fir for the floors, which cost $26,000 to build.
Since its construction in 1886 a variety of businesses have occupied the historic Williams-Kyser Building. It was an exhibition hall during 1890 for the Napa and Solano county fairs, and additionally housed the local armory, Napa Beauty College, E.G Lohman’s agricultural implements (tractors), the office of Napa County Superintendent of Schools, Valley Vacuum, Copy Corner, the Oberon Gallery and many more. The most unique tenants were the Duck Pin Bowling Alley in the early 1940’s, the Feminist Connection in 1979 and Kyser’s Main Street undertaking business in the early 1900’s.Cole’s Chop House opened its doors in March 2000. After 16 successful years, Greg and Beth sold Cole’s to long-time employee Eric Keffer and his wife Heather. Cole’s Chop House continues the tradition of “NapaValley’s Favorite Steak House.”